Something amazing I thought I would share with you Dear Readers.

I had a terrible cold this past weekend. Full on sneezy and wheezy. I went to Longs to get antihistamines and Sudafed, but I know these are not cures. They just help with the symtoms.

By the way, you can get the ‘old fashioned’ strong Sudafed by going to the pharmacist and asking for it. You have to show your ID and sign a form that you are not going to make crystal meth out of it. Also you can only get one box every thirty days.

I mentioned my ailment to a woman I know, my massage therapist, and she gave me some very good advice. “Take one teaspoon of apple cider vinegar and then drink a glass of water and your cold will be gone by tomorrow”.

I didn’t really believe her, but I figured what have I got to lose. My boyfriend, the RN, even brought me a bottle of vinegar. He got the giant size so if I get one hundred more colds in my lifetime, I am all set.

I was surprised that he supported me on this, as whenever I mention some of my old wives tale cures for this and that, he just rolls his eyes.

And by the way, I know for a fact that magnets work wonders for all sorts of ailments.

I don’t know if it is the beautiful yellow roses and a Get Well balloon that he brought, or if it is the apple cider vinegar, but my cold is gone.  I feel almost normal.

I will say that I did the one teaspoon thing three times yesterday and twice today. It really isn’t that awful tasting and it’s only for a few seconds. Then the water sort of washes it away.

If I had known this when my children were growing up, I would have made them do this. I don’t know how I would get three little kids to drink a spoonful of apple cider vinegar. You can’t really disguise it in anything.

When I had to give them a pill I would bury it in a marshmallow. I remember when I was a little girl, the medicine of choice was sulfa powder. My mother gave me my dose with a big spoon of strawberry jam.

Now whenever we have to give our French poodle his medicine, we either put it in a marshmallow or in a big spoonful of peanut butter. (In case you don’t have a marshmallow or peanut butter, you can also fold it into a slice of American cheese.)

