When I went to Punahou school in the 1950’s my most favorite dessert for lunch was their Caramel Cuts. (These are sort of like a cross between a brownie without the chocolate and a chocolate chip cookie without the chips.)

Then in the seventies my children went to the same school and it was their favorite also. My two daughters graduated in ’78 and ’80. Now I see where the president of the United States, who graduated from Punahou school in 1979 lists these as his favorites too.

So here is the recipe. It is very simple. I just melted the stick of butter (unsalted) in a large pyrex measuring cup, mixed in the rest of the ingredients and then baked them for 25 minutes.

Then eat. And I bet you can’t just eat one. (Unless you cut it into large squares).

Punahou School Caramel Cuts

Preheat oven to 350

melt 1/2 cup butter (micro is fine) Then add…

2 cups brown sugar

2 eggs

2 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoons vanilla

1/4 teaspoon salt.

Combine butter/sugar. Add rest and mix well. Bake in greased 15 x 10 pan for 25 minutes. Cool and cut into bars.

I didn’t have that size pan, so I just used my large rectangular pyrex baking pan, and it was just fine. You could probably halve this recipe and bake it in a square ‘brownie’ pan.

In the olden days they didn’t have nutrition stats. Now they do and so here are the stats for these delicious bars. Hope this doesn’t ‘spoil’ it for you.

I see where if you eat ten, you will get a full serving of protein. And 100% of your full serving of cholesterol for the day. And 560% of your sugar for the day.

Can that be right?


