I got a new printer and blogged about it yesterday. I have been online trying to learn how to use some of the new features on this Photosmart Printer.

There is “How to make an envelope for Dummies”. But there is a 2003 version and a 2007 version and my computer is from 2010 and my printer is from 2011. What to do?

It is sort of like reading an old cookbook printed prior to 1970. There were no microwave ovens. To melt something, you had to put it in a double boiler. To defrost a pound of hamburger or a steak you had to wrap it in newspaper and leave it on the counter.

Actually that last one is a good way to defrost meat if you are going to be out all day. The meat will still be cold and icy when you unwrap it, (not all mushy and warm.)

This newspaper wrap is a very good way to transport frozen steaks to an outdoor bar-b-que. I even know people who pack a few steaks in their suitcase on a trip and when they arrive at their destination, the steaks are perfect.

You have to check this through in your check in suitcase or it would be confiscated. However it would be a nice house gift if you are staying with friends or relatives. (Especially if you live in a place that has great steaks, like Kansas City)

Before airport security and before all the luggage rules, life was much simpler. You could carry food on an airplane. I never flew back to Hawaii without bringing a big box of bagels. And we always carried leis and pineapples when we were leaving Hawaii.

Some things were more difficult, but we didn’t know it. I very well remember before we had cordless phones. You had to stand by the wall to use a wall phone.

As for color, you could have your wall phone in white, yellow or avacado. These were the three top ‘kitchen’ colors in 1960. In 1960 I had a yellow stove, refrigerator, washer and dryer.

If you wanted true convenience you could have the phone company install a 25 foot cord, so you could take the phone to the couch. Of course this was always getting tangled up.

Then the coiled cord came out and this was much better. It got snarled but you could put a plastic snake thing on it to keep it from getting all knotted up.

In 1964 my appliances were all Coppertone. (There were no Coppertone phones.) I even ordered a mini kitchen for my daughters. This was also from Sears and also in Coppertone.

I remember when this four piece set arrived on the Sears truck. This was to be my Christmas present for my two little girls. I planned the delivery for December 23.

Each of the four boxes was about 30 x 30 x 4 inches. Uh, oh. Did it say some assembly? I proceeded to build four Kenmore appliances out of forty pieces of printed metal and about four hundred screws. This had to be done in two days.

Of course I didn’t have anything else to do. NO, just manage to care for three children ages two, four and six plus do all the housework and cooking for a family of five living in a three story five bedroom house.

This was supposed to be a ‘secret’, coming from Santa. Not so easy to figure out where to assemble this kiddie kitchen. I tried to work in the den, but the screws kept getting lost in the shag carpet. I finally had to move my workshop to the family room, as it had a tile floor.

I can’t remember if the hardest part was putting together the double door refrigerator with all the shelves and hinges or the sink, with an actual water tank and rubber hoses going to the faucets. I think I finished the assembly about two AM on Christmas morning.

The mini kitchen was a big hit and became Jody and Sherry’s favorite plaything. Until one day one of them left the water running in the mini sink, the entire metal base rusted to the playroom floor and the faucets never worked again.

