This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Winnie the Pooh pillow

Next time you are in a thrift shop, check out the fabric basket. I found this needlepoint of Pooh for 25 cents.  I knew I could do something with it. Either frame it as is or make a little pillow for my granddaughter.

I had a little snip of navy blue velvet which was perfect for the backing. Very simple, just put right sides together and stitch all around with a sewing machine. Be sure to machine sew around all the corners and leave an opening big enough to turn the pillow.

Steam, stuff and sew the opening. After further scrutiny, I didn’t like the edges. Too plain. So I got a yard of lace trim and just hand sewed it all around the edge of the pillow. Much better and the lace hides a multitude of ‘sins’.

Sometimes you see a piece of fabric that has a great design in the middle, or the edges are frayed. Something like this would make a good little pillow also.

The correct way to make a pillow is to have piping around the edges between the front and the back. I have never done this, but I am tempted to try it. However for a pillow for a nine year old child, I don’t think this is necessary.

Let’s see, the hardest part of this whole thing was threading the needle on my sewing machine. I even bought a special sewing machine with an automatic needle threader.

Guess what? I can’t figure it out. I have tried a jillion times, and always wind up with a magnifying glass and just doing it the old fashioned way. Thread through the eye of the needle.

I looked online and did see a contraption that looked pretty good. It is an automatic sewing machine threader. $12.99 and shipping to Hawaii is only $2.86. This looks like a pen with a notch at the end. I am very seriously thinking of ordering this item.

For those of you who have trouble threading the sewing machine needle, this will make your life much easier.

This little pillow turned out so well, I am going to make another one. This one will be better. I am going to make it correctly, with piping and all.

Since I needed to buy some piping, today I went to a fabric store. Kaimuki Dry Goods is a fabric store I have been going to for over fifty years. I haven’t been in a long time. Oh, my God. What happened? I used to buy fabric and sew clothes for myself and my daughters.

I remember when really expensive fabric, like velvet was $7.95 a yard. Now most cottons are $10.95 and up and anything at all fancy is $16.95 a yard. The velvets and silks are over $35 a yard.

It used to be economical to sew your own clothes. Now, I don’t think so. It is more of an art form. It is so easy to go to Target or Walmart and get darling children’s clothes for less than the cost of one yard of fabric.

Being very thrifty, I always check out the remnants, as I often only need a yard or less to make something. Imagine my surprise when I saw little rolled up fabrics marked down 50% and they were still $67 for one and a half yards, and $23 for one yard.

In the olden days, I could buy remnants and they were just enough to make clothes for my children. I don’t think I ever paid over $2 or $3 for yard of fabric.

Walmart still has a very reasonable fabric department. There is a pretty good selection of fabrics, with nothing much over $10 a yard and lots of choices under $5 a yard. But they still measure each yard out with a yardstick.

 It is still fun to make doll clothes and little items. Especially since I have an electronic Singer sewing machine with 80 different stitches. And the only hard part is threading the needle.

One would think that with all the modern gadgets, this would be pretty simple to figure out. Maybe someone will really make an automatic needle threader that is easy to operate in my lifetime. How ’bout an iThreader?

