Make your own judgment.   Snopes says this is undetermined, research in progress. This was sent to me by a friend and although I have yet to try it, I certainly will. In fact, I even have a brand new bag of flour, as the last time I needed flour it was buy one, get one free.My experience with burns is this: In the past I have always used aloe, or cold water, but here is something worth trying.(See below)

Another burn experience was while making fried chicken,hot oil splashed onto my breast/chest. I couldn’t get rid of the ugly red scar, so I had a rose tattooed over the scar and it looks beautiful.The part below about the corn/boiling water and flour is ‘hearsay’ and not proven by me yet. But it is certainly worth a try.

‘Once I was cooking some corn and stuck my fork in the boiling water to see if the corn was ready.  I missed and my hand went into the boiling water….

A friend of mine, who was a Vietnam vet, came into the house, just as I was screaming, and asked me if I had some plain old flour…I pulled out a bag and he stuck my hand in it. He said to keep my hand in the flour for 10 minutes which I did. He said that in Vietnam, this guy was on fire and in their panic, they threw a bag of flour all over him to put the fire out…well, it not only put the fire out, but he never even had a blister!!!!

SOOOO, long story short, I put my hand in the bag of flour for 10 minutes, pulled it out and had not even a red mark or a blister and absolutley NO PAIN.  Now, I keep a bag of flour in the fridge and every time I burn myself, I use the flour and never ONCE have I ever had a red spot, a burn or a blister!
*cold flour feels even better than room temperature flour.

Miracle, if you ask me.  Keep a bag of white flour in your fridge and you will be happy you did.  I even burnt my tongue and put the flour on it for about 10 minutes and the pain was gone and no burn.  Try it! And don’t run your burn area under cold water first, just put it right into the flour for 10 minutes and experience a miracle!’

And just like the guy who caught on fire, if you have a little kitchen fire on the stove, dump flour on it. It is a big mess, but better than burning your house down.

If you want something else good to do with flour besides treating burns or making cookies, here is something very useful. If you are trying to ripen avacados, just bury them in a bag or canister of flour.(this is real tested advice from Sandy)

Just don’t forget them, or you will find some very moldy avacados in your flour one day.(I did this once and didn’t find the avacados till a month later after I came back from a vacation)

If for some reason, you don’t like this idea, you can ripen avacados by putting them in a brown paper bag. They will ripen faster if you put a piece of fruit in also, such as an apple.

(And if you put an apple in the bin with potatoes, they will keep fresh longer and not grow any ‘eyes’.)

Speaking of ripe avacados, if you mash one up and spread it all over your face, this makes a very good natural mask. If you squirt a little lemon juice into the avacado, it will keep it from turning brown. Leave it on for about fifteen minutes and all that vitamin E and other good nutrients will soak into your skin. This looks awful, so just go into a dark room and lie down and take a little nap.

Then rinse and Voila!

