I was looking at the ads in yesterday’s Sunday newspaper. I came to the Safeway ad and their red hot special of whole chicken at $1.39 a pound (save 40cents a pound). I remember when chicken was 39 cents a pound. Period.

This was around 1960 and at the same time, I think steak was $1.25 a pound. Twenty five dollars a week was my grocery budget. That was about four big paper bags full.

I must be getting stronger. Now I can carry $25 of groceries in a plastic bag hanging from one finger. Lets see, for $25 I could buy a dozen eggs, a half gallon of milk, a loaf of bread, a box of cereal, a pound of bacon and maybe some bananas.

I was in Hallmark the other day, buying some Easter cards. The average greeting card is over $3 and lots are over $4. I found myself looking at those ‘books’ that tell about each year in the past.

In 1947 when I was nine years old, the average new home cost $6,650, but the average income was less than $3000 a year.

Now I can hardly get by on $3000 a month. And most things are at least ten times more than they were then. Some things are a hundred times more expensive.

A good example of that is the tuition to Harvard University. In 1947 it was $420 a year. I think now it is around $42,000 a year.

Speaking of the cost of tuition, I recall sending my children to the best private school in Hawaii. I had three children all going to the same school from 1968 to 1980, when the last one graduated.

At that time the tuition ranged from $750 to $1000 a year. Now the tuition is $16,800 a year. And that is plus books and extras like lunch.

If I had three children going there now, my tuition for the year would be over $50K.

My daughter who lives in the Bay area of San Francisco told me that a comparable school in that area is between $20,000 and $25,000 per year for elementary school.

Fortunately, their family lives across the street from the best public school in California. The families who send their children there all lend their support both physically and financially so the children can have art and music classes and some of the other extras that the regular public schools have eliminated.

My daughter has friends who have twins in private elementary school. Tuition: $50,000 a year.

When my children went to college in the late seventies, the out of state tuition for UCLA was $2500 a year. My youngest child only wanted to go to one university, Stanford. I remember telling her that she better get a scholarship, as the tuition was $15,000 a year and that was out of the question.

Luckily she did get a full four year scholarship and she was even given a job for ten hours a week in the admissions office. This paid her about $40 a week, which was great as that was her ‘spending’ money.

Now $40 doesn’t go very far. I was in Long’s drugstore last week. I needed paper towels, toilet paper, zip lock bags, bug spray, and toothpaste. That’s right, $41.60.

I wonder what the cost of things will be when my grandchildren are adults. As it is, they get $15 iTune cards from the Tooth Fairy and I only got a dime.

