Limited Edition Via Tribute

Can you believe it has been forty years that Starbucks has been around? I can remember when people laughed at their methods. Now it is a part of our culture.

It always amazes me that there is usually a fairly long line and people patiently wait to give their order and there is never any cutting in or complaining.

Starbucks will always have a very special place in my heart. I met my boyfriend online and when we finally decided to meet in person, we chose Starbucks. I figured the one in Macy’s was as safe a place as any, to meet a strange man. After all, he could have been an axe murderer.

There were jokes out about how many Starbucks were in each area. My favorite cartoon one was, “I’ll meet you at the Starbucks on the corner of 53rd and 3rd.” In the next scene you see a bewildered man standing at 53rd and 3rd, and there is a Starbucks on all four corners.

When they announced that they were cutting back on the number of stores on each block, people were outraged. How dare they make me walk an extra half a block for a cup of coffee!

Actually cup of coffee is not the correct term. No it is a tall, grande, latte, etc. And of course all of these make for great airport fare as well.

Today I see where they are jumping on the calorie conscious bandwagon and have come out with a whole bevy of under 200 calorie treats. These are called Starbucks Petites.

Very clever. Now all the women can get their sweets and not feel guilty at all. Only 120 calories for a little lemon bar. (Gee, maybe you should get two.)

If you go to the Starbucks website, you will find that they are having a sweepstakes in honor of their 40th anniversary. That’s right. All you have to do to enter is to put your email (twice of course), your name and zip code and you could be the lucky winner of a $2500 Starbucks card.

Gosh, you could go to Starbucks every single day for a year and spend $7 a day. Or every other day for two years. Or, if you were being very thrifty, you could buy 200 pounds of coffee and make it at home.

My favorite Starbucks item is the Via instant coffee. It is expensive but worth it. Each little mini packet contains enough for one cup of coffee. Eight ounces is best. After that it is watered down.

You can make this with hot or cold water. The coffee is very finely ground and dissolves immediately. It is $9.95 for a pack of twelve if you buy it at Starbucks and $16.95 for a pack of 24 if you get it at Costco.

Of course if you go to Costco, you have to be a member and the membership is $50 a year for their cheapest plan. Plus the Costco pack is sealed in that terrible, impossible to open plastic. There should be a warning on the package, “Slice Hand Here”.

If I win the sweepstakes I could buy 250 boxes of Via. With twelve in a box, that’s a lot of instant coffee. I wonder if the winner gets a big hoopla like for Publisher’s Clearing House? Do you think they come to your door with TV cameras and all. Or do they just email you, “You Won”. No, they would have to send you the $2500 Starbucks card by registered mail, at least.

Starbucks just announced a new blend of coffee for their Via packets. It is called Tribute and is a limited edition. Their slogan for this is ‘Never Before, Never Again’. I will have to try this next time I’m in a Starbucks. I seriously doubt if they will have this at Costco.

I like to buy limited edition anything. I even bought their Christmas blend coffee, which was awful. It tasted like pine cones ground up. The new Via flavor is $10.95 for a pack of twelve.

I’m always up for a deal. One day they had a ‘buy two packs of Via and get any drink free’. Once they had a ‘buy any drink, and buy any sandwich for $2. Jamba Juice had a ‘buy a $25 gift card and get a Jamba Juice drink free’. I always take advantage of these specials.

Usually limited editions of anything are in cosmetics. I am a sucker for those. They really mean it, when they say limited editions. I can recall three that I meant to get ‘next time’ and when I went back they were no longer available.

One was by Dior and it was a five color eyeshadow compact with a fabulous purple as the featured shade. Then Este’ Lauder had a Michael Kors Hollywood pink blush that was only out for about a week. Then that same company had a gorgeous Blue Dahlia eyeshadow that disappeared immediately.

So this time, when I was in Nordstroms and saw a great nail polish by Chanel in Black Pearl, I lingered over it. $25 for a bottle of nail polish. Insane. But they do make great nail polish and the color was unique. Especially since I am such a big fan of Pirates of the Caribbean, The Black Pearl. (the name of Johnny Depps ship).

So when the salesgirl said that it was a limited edition and that when it was gone it was gone, that did it. I tipped over the edge.

Now I’ll have to run, not walk into the nearest Starbucks and pick up a couple of their new Via Tribute flavored coffees.

