This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A photo shoot

Have you ever wondered why Oprah looks so great on the cover of her magazine, or why the women in ads look so perfect? It’s the photographer. Of course it helps to get the right angle and lighting, but there is a big difference in a photo taken by a professional photographer and just anyone.

I am very fortunate that my boyfriend is a professional photographer. This was the first time ever I had actually gone on a photo shoot with him.

Of course I wore full makeup and even used HD (high definition highlight powder) around my eyes. The fingernails were a total accident. I had them done a week before to match something else.

We went to a shopping center in Waikiki, that he had researched to find just the right backgrounds. I took a hat and a couple of changes of shoes and jackets to vary the photos a little.

The results speak for themselves. These are probably the three best photos of me I have ever had taken. And they are not too touched up. OK, a little here and there, but nothing drastic.

I have to give 100% credit to the photographer for the poses. He told me how to sit, stand, and how to place my hands. It would have helped to have some hot music playing, but that was not possible in this setting.

The hat is a real honest to goodness Panama. I bought it for $80 about a year ago at a new products show. At the same booth were Panama hats for $1500. I love this hat and the best part of a Panama hat is that you can fold it and roll it up and put it in your purse.

A Panama hat is also excellent sun protection. To make the finest grade Panama hat takes several months and the weavers  have very long fingernails to help them weave the palm fronds from a special palm.

All of this is well and good, but I bought the hat because I fell in love with the color. $80 is a lot to spend on a hat that doesn’t particularly ‘go’ with anything, but I am sure glad I did it. If I hadn’t, these photos would not exist.

I think in life we regret the things we didn’t do, rather than the things we did do. So, it might seem like a frivolous purchase, but who is to say what is good and what is bad?

Meanwhile, it was great fun to pose and act like a model for an hour or so. I always wanted to be a model but my height and weight prevented me from that calling. Even when I was seventeen and longingly looked at the girls on the cover of Seventeen magazine, I wished I was taller and skinnier.

While we were in the middle of the photo session, a security guard came along to see if we were violating some law. We assured him, it was just a guy taking photos of his girlfriend. That seemed to satisfy him and he went on about his rounds.

These photos will never wind up on the cover of a magazine but to me they are very special and it was fun to create them.

 

