This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As seen on TV

Usually things that are As Seen on TV are really awful. They don’t work quite the way, it shows you on the infomercial. But this donut cake maker is great.

I actually got it at Walgreens. They have a whole section of As Seen on TV and you can see the item in person, before you buy it. Plus there is no shipping and handling fee.

On the day before Thanksgiving, sort of a grey Wednesday, there was a buy one, get one free special on these cake pans. There was a giant cupcake and a giant donut. So I got both.

I haven’t made the cupcake one yet. I will save that for another rainy day. But the donut one turned out so good, I can’t wait to try another flavor.

There is even a special insert so that the lower half has a groove to put filling such as cream or jam. That way, you could bake a giant jelly donut. And dust it with powdered sugar.

I just made my regular Duncan Hines devils food bundt cake recipe on the box. I do substitute vodka and orange juice for the water.

For the glaze, I mixed butter, powdered sugar, cocoa and a little coffeee, a splash of Bailey’s irish cream, and vanilla. Luckily I had a jar of colored sprinkles, which really makes it look authentic.

The only problem is that now my kitchen is a big mess. I have the mixing bowl and beaters from the cake, the bowl and beaters from the frosting, the racks and pans. Everything is dirty and my dishwasher is full.

Writing about it is my way of stalling the clean up session.

Just in case it didn’t come out well, I made a batch of brownies earlier in the day. These are really easy. They are called four minute brownies and I have been baking them for years.

Here is the recipe for these delicious brownies. In electric mixer put one stick of softened unsalted butter, one cup sugar, one/half cup flour, three heaping tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder, two eggs and a spoon of vanilla. Beat for four minutes. Add half cup chopped walnuts. Pour into greased square 8 x 8 pan and bake at 350 until just done. About 23 to 25 minutes.  Cool and then cut in squares.

I have also baked this in a pie pan. I use the metal one from Marie Callendar. (If you like wedges instead of squares). This would probably be super great in one of those new brownie pans which gives you edges on each piece. That is one baking item I have yet to get.

Good plain, or you can frost if you like. I like a big square with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and a good amount of Smuckers Hot Fudge sauce (heated for one minute in microwave) poured over the top. A squirt of Reddi Whip (only 15 calories per serving) doesn’t hurt either.

I wonder how much whipped cream Reddi Whip calls a ‘serving’.

 

