I got so many great presents for Christmas, but there was one that you Dear Readers will benefit from. My boyfriend gave me an Apple TV but he also got me lots of great ‘stocking stuffers’. The one you will all appreciate, once I have had a chance to read and digest it, is ‘Blogging for Dummies’.

I started blogging about four months ago and have written 109 posts and gotten 139 comments. I think that is pretty good, since I am totally self taught and have just been flying by the seat of my pants.

So when I got this book, I decided to read it on the airplane tomorrow for my trip to Las Vegas. I’m sure I’ll be all inspired with a ton of new ideas, but while I am gone for a week, I will not be near a computer and so I will not be able to blog until I get back.

I’m really sorry, as I know some of you get your daily ‘fix’ by reading my blog, but that is just how it is.

If you miss me a lot, I recommend that you go back a ways and read some of my ‘older’ blogs. If you go way back to the beginning on day one, you can read the story of my life.

When I get home, I’m sure I’ll have some wild tales to tell about Las Vegas. What happens in Las Vegas, winds up on Sandy’s blog.

I am going on a Vacations Hawaii travel package and staying at the Orleans Hotel. I used to pooh-pooh this way of travel, but no more. It is the only way to go. First of all it is a charter, which means you can take two suitcases for free. This is important as I always overpack. I take one whole suitcase of shoes, hats and purses.

Plus I have to leave some room for a run to Trader Joe’s. We don’t have that in Hawaii and there are certain things I miss and only they have. They used to have a very good wine, sort of a Merlot. It was only $2 and we called it Two Buck Chuck.

I think I read that it has gone up to $3, but i still think I’ll bring back a couple of bottles. They will fit perfectly wrapped in newspaper and stuffed into my boots. Not on my feet, of course.

Also on a charter, they feed you on your flight. The Vacations Hawaii charter is especially nice. Just before landing everyone gets an ice cream sandwich. Real comfort food for the final leg of the journey.

When you go on a Vacations Hawaii package they totally take care of your baggage, so it magically winds up in your hotel room without ever having to wait for it by the carousel or lug it on and off the smart cart. A big bus transports you to your hotel and when you check in you are given a coupon book good for all your meals.

It is a totally worry free way to travel. And in this day and age with body scans and TSA nonsense, it is nice to have the main part of your trip, hassle free.

Vacations Hawaii is also a very good deal financially. If you go with two it is even a better deal. I travel alone, so I pay a little extra for a single room, but even so, it is a bargain.

New Years is the most expensive time to travel to Las Vegas. Most hotels charge four hundred dollars a night with a two night minimum. Caezars Palace charges $1000 for two nights. Plus tax.

The Vacations Hawaii package for a single is less than that and it includes round trip airfare from Hawaii, transportation and baggage handling in Las Vegas, five nights at the hotel plus three meals a day for five days.

I have tickets to the Elvis Circque de Soleil show at the new Aria Hotel in City Center. I am really looking forward to that as I haven’t been to the new Aria, as it wasn’t open, last time I was in Vegas. I will tell you all about it when I return..

So until we meet again, I want to wish you all a safe and happy New Years Eve and a healthy, peaceful New Year in 2011. And I want to thank you all for your support on my venture and for all your great comments these past few months.

Aloha for now…Sandy

