The Tooth Fairy-2010

Do you remember when you lost your first tooth? I do. It was 1944 and I was six years old. My front tooth was loose and I had been fiddling with it for about a week. I could stick my tongue under it and twist it around.

Finally, my mother decided it was time for it to come out. So she tied a string around my tooth and the other end to a doorknob and slammed the door. Out came my tooth. I was in shock and crying and she comforted me and said, “There, there, it will be ok. Put it under your pillow tonight and the tooth fairy will come, take it away and leave you a present.”

I immediately perked up. I was so excited. I could hardly wait till bedtime. I was thinking maybe a new tricycle or a beautiful doll. I sort of had the tooth fairy confused with Santa Claus. I woke up several times during the night to see if I could “catch” the tooth fairy.

In the morning I looked by my bed. Nothing. I was so dejected. I went to the breakfast table and my mother cheerily said, “Did the tooth fairy come?” “NO, she didn’t”.

We went back to my bedroom and my mother told me to look under my pillow, because that is where she usually leaves the present. Under my pillow? How could a tricycle or a doll fit under my pillow?

A shiny dime. That’s it? I was so disappointed, but I didn’t want to hurt the tooth fairy’s feelings in case she was still flying around.

Mother took me shopping so I could buy whatever I wanted for a dime. We went to Kresses five and ten cent store and I got two barretts on a card. I remember they were white with pink, blue and yellow flowers.

Meanwhile my mother must have written to my father telling him about me losing my first tooth. My mother, sister and I were living in Los Angeles during the war. He was still in Hawaii and didn’t have a clue what to send to a six year old child.

About two weeks later a huge package arrived for me. It was gift wrapped and the card said, ‘To Sandra, Congratulations on losing your first tooth, Love Daddy.’

I tore open the paper and guess what? It was a five pound box of See’s candy. (The perfect gift for a six year old child) Actually it probably was, as I never forgot it.

Nowadays there are special satin envelopes that are embroidered Tooth Fairy. You put the tooth inside and in the morning there is a present. When I was a child we just wrapped the tooth in kleenex.

Recently my two grandchildren found out about the tooth fairy. The good fairy had been leaving them iTunes gift cards (my, how times have changed) under their pillow and one night “forgot”. My daughter explained very nicely that she actually was the tooth fairy. My ten year old grandson was so upset he cried. But my eight year old “street wise” granddaughter just said, “I knew it, I knew it”.

My daughter softened the blow by telling them that when they grew up and had children that they would get to be the tooth fairy.

