A few days ago, I wrote about a special at Safeway. If you purchased $50 of groceries you could purchase a turkey for $7.99. I was skeptical as to how great this turkey could be, as it was a  twelve and a half pound, No Name frozen bird. 

I thawed it in a sink of cold water for a few hours and then this is what I did: I rubbed it inside and out with kosher salt, fresh ground pepper and Kaiulani’s Kona Coffee rub and seasoning.  Also under the skin as much as I could reach. I bought a package of fresh thyme and crumbled up some and rubbed that all over and took the sprigs and put them under the skin and inside the turkey. I used the entire package.

Then I wrapped it in a plastic bag, put in in a large pyrex baking dish, and put it in the refridgerator for two days. About one o’clock on the day of roasting, I took it out of fridge, sort of rinsed, wiped off most of the rub, smeared the whole bird inside and out and under the skin with softened salt free butter and stuffed it.

I put the turkey on a rack, breast side up in my electric roaster. I poured two cups of water in the bottom of the pan. Starting temperature at 425-450 and after about an hour, lowered to 325-350. I cooked it from 1:30 to 5, let it rest about a half hour covered in foil, and then served it.

It was the Very Best Turkey I have ever had. I have made well over two hundred turkeys over the years so that is saying a lot. It was moist, tasty and got nothing but rave reviews from all the guests.

I usually make homemade cranberry sauce by simply putting one pound of fresh cranberries, one navel orange cut up in chunks with the skin, and about 1/2 cup sugar (or more if you like it sweeter)  in a food processor. You may have to do half at a time, as it might not all fit. Pulse a few times till it is all blended and then put in fridge.

But the Hawaii markets did not have fresh cranberries yet, so early in the month of November. So I just used Oceanspray cranberry sauce in a can, doctored  up with the zest of a navel orange.

I guess what I am saying, is that you don’t have to wait for Thanksgiving to have a great turkey dinner.

