This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Photos of me on couch all taken by my professional photographer friend

Most of the photos on the slideshow are me in front of my library wallpaper. I am a avid reader and a bookaholic. Is that a word?

When I was ten I had the complete collection of Nancy Drew. I can still remember the thrill of buying each new one the day it was released. Now I always have a “book going”.

I choose books by author. I have many favorites. I will list them in no particular order.

Jodi Picoult- for novels about real life issues. The first one I ever read and probably my favorite was Nineteen Minutes, about a school massacre and its effects on the parents, community etc. But all her books are great.

Nelson de Mille-Very good writer. UpCountry was my first foray into his books and I laughed outloud. I like all his books. Good for men and women readers.

Terry McMillan-Waiting to Exhale, How Stella Got her Groove Back, Getting to Happy. Novels from the point of view of a wealthy black woman, and her friends. Chick flick books.

Jennifer Weiner- Good in Bed and all her other books. She is very funny. Chick flick books.

Jeffrey Archer-Cain and Able and all his other books. Great plots with a real twist at the end. Good for men and women readers.

Lee Child-The Jack Reacher novels. Jack is an ex MP, who is a nomad. He has no possessions, not even a watch. But he has a built in watch in his head. He buys clothes, wears them and then throws them away and buys some more. But he has no house, car etc. He does carry a toothbrush. Good for men and women readers.

Many of my books are ‘How to’ books on crafts, painting, needlework and decorating. My reference books include ones on health, astrology, art and artists. It’s good to have a lot of varied interests. (Don’t want to be a ‘one trick pony’).

I’m embarrassed to say I have never read Harry Potter. I tried, but just didn’t ‘get it’. Meanwhile, my eleven year old grandson has read them all.

I buy most of my paperbacks and “quality” paperbacks at Costco. It’s Doubleday Book Club for my hardbacks.

Here is my Book Club method. I join a Book Club and get six books for 99 cents for joining. That keeps me busy for a couple of months. Then when there is a sale, I buy two books, when there is another sale I buy two more. There, I’ve fulfilled my obligation and I have ten hardback books for around $60. Then I cancel my membership and in a month or so start over.

I check out the book section whenever I go to a thrift shop. Most books are $1 or $2 and paperbacks are even less. An even more economical way to get your books is to go to the Public Library, where they are free.

Have you tried audio books through Audible?  You can join for three months for $7.49 a month and try it. They have 75,000 titles and even I could figure out their website. You can download books to your computer/phone and play them in your car while you are wasting time in traffic or listen to them like a bed time story.

Whether you read books in print, or listen to them on your computer or phone, you are missing a lot in life, if you don’t read. There are thousands of books out there on any subject you can imagine.

p.s. The Martha Stewart Cupcake Cookbook Contest will be ending on Sunday. So far, not too many of you readers have left comments on my blog. But there is still time to leave a comment and be eligible to win that cookbook.

